TikTok is currently one of the best video sharing platforms as it has more than 500 million monthly active users. Registering and joining TikTok is a very simple process, but if you want to delete TikTok account maybe it is a bit more complicated.
Lack of privacy settings and deprecated content is often the main reason why users permanently delete their account. If you want to permanently or temporarily delete your TikTok account, but you do not know the necessary steps, in this article we will explain all the steps for deleting a TikTok account.
How to delete Tik Tok account permanently or temporarily?
Only a while ago TikTok users had to contact customer service in order to delete their accounts. But with the increasing demand for deleting accounts from the TikTok platform, the TikTok management has made this task much faster.
Here’s how to permanently delete your TikTok account in a few easy steps (if you want to delete the account temporarily follow the same steps but you must login back into the account for less than 30 days).
There is a Step before deleting the account: You must first add a phone number to your TikTok account before you deleting it (if you have already added a phone number, skip this step and go to Step 1).
1- Login to the TikTok application, and then click on “Me – My Page” in the lower right or left corner.
2- Click on the three dots at the top (•••) and then click on the “Manage My Account” option from the menu.
3- Then click on the “Phone Number” option and tap on it to enter your phone number. The app will send a one-time-code (OTP) to your phone, so you just have to enter the code in the appropriate box, and your phone number will be connected to your TikTok account.
1- after that you should click again on the “My Page” option in the lower right or left corner.
2- When the new window opens, press the three dots to enter the settings.
3- there is menu will appear on the screen, enter the “Manage My Account” option.
4- Then you will find an option at the bottom of the screen “Delete Account”, click on it and the application will send a code message to your phone number automatically.
5- Enter the code you received in the message in the appropriate box and press the Continue button to complete the process of deleting your TikTok account.
6- Before confirming the process you will be shown the features that you will lose and you will lose all the videos posted on your account and also the in-app purchases. Now just click on “Delete Account” and then the account will be logged out and the account will be deleted. If you ever change your mind, simply sign in again before the 30 day period expires to reactivate your account again.
Think carefully before deleting your account
If you don’t want to lose all the videos you have shared on Tik Tok, you should download them from your profile to your phone because all the data stored on your account will be deleted. What’s more, you won’t get a refund for any in-app purchases you made while using TikTok.
If you just want to pause from social media, the app offers some advanced options that will enable you to keep your account while your account is completely hidden from users. Here are some solutions that you might want to try before deleting your Tik Tok account forever.
Three Alternatives to Delete TikTok Account
The platform offers many advanced options for its users that enable them to hide from the public. That’s why you don’t have to delete your TikTok account if you don’t want one of your videos to be seen, here are some options.
Set your privacy settings to private
TikTok can be used in private mode, although all accounts on TikTok are public when created. But you can make the account private as all new followers will have to send you a friend request to watch your videos.
This option can be activated by clicking on the “My Page” option and then clicking on the “three dots” and choosing “Privacy and security”, after that you just have to turn on the “Private account” option and after a while only your followers will be able to see the content you post on TikTok.
Prevent other users from finding you
The “Suggest your account to others” option allows you to control who can see your account because if you enable it your account will appear in the suggestions other users see. You can find this option in the Privacy and Security menu so you can just turn it off and your account won’t be visible to others. And you can turn it back on whenever you want if you ever decide you want to appear in follower suggestions.
Control who can send you messages and post comments on your videos
Limiting the number of people who can contact you through TikTok is another way to increase your privacy. The “Who can send direct messages to me” and “Can comment on your videos” options are available in the (Privacy and Security) menu so you can easily set these options to (Only for me) or (Friends) if you want to avoid receiving messages from users You don’t know them.
The recent updates to the TikTok app have made the option to delete your TikTok account quick and easy. However, once the account is deleted and you are not logged in again within 30 days, you will not be able to use it again. This is why you need to think carefully especially as the app offers a number of ways to increase your privacy.